WFAF 2020 Winners

The COVID-19 pandemic did not stop our incredible jury from awarding the best films in this year’s selection. We are grateful to all films submitted, proud of the 80 films selected, and extremely happy with the 5 films awarded. The team is thankful to every filmmaker from all around the world for being part of WFAF 2020. We cannot wait to see your next projects!

Without further ado, let us announce the winners!

Grand Prix

Physics of Sorrow, Theodore Ushev, Canada, 2019, for outstanding emotional influence

Best Student film

The Back of the Spoon, Laurent Wassouf, Clément Crosnier, Edgard Cros, Theoline Chapas, Nolwenn Pétereau, Nedellec Anouk, Lucas Ancel, for remarkable directing and editing

Best Children’s film

The Little Boat That Wanted to Fly, Ekaterina Filippova, Russian Federation, 2020, for heartwarming storytelling and humaneness

Best TV Series – Mush-Mush and the Mushables – The Missing Mushlet, Joeri Christiaen, Belgium, 2020, for dynamic and heartwarming storytelling

Best Feature film

The Nose or the Conspiracy of Mavericks, Andrey Khrzhanovsky, Germany, 2020, for distinctive visual and creative interpretation of a literary work